Market Monday

This week, I forgot to stop for cash on my way to the farmers’ market, so I could only use our CSA punch card for purchases. But as you can see, I came home with plenty.

We’ll eat the green beans as a side with “tuna bake,” a casserole my mom made when I was a kid that Dexter has requested for dinner this week.

We bought regular large eggs, but then decided to get a carton of pullet eggs (left), which are the first eggs a hen lays when they are less than a year old. They are smaller than standard eggs. Some people think they are richer than standard eggs, but our pastured eggs from Salt Fork Farms are so good that it doesn’t really matter if they’re big or small.

The cherry tomatoes were just for Dexter. Although his sweet tooth usually pulls him toward things more like this, he loves popping back tomatoes. I don’t get it, but I do support the habit.

The onions and zucchini will go in spaghetti sauce, in omelets, and atop huevos rancheros.

We devoured the potatoes Saturday night with burgers. I tried an Amy’s veggie burger for the first time.

Last week, I had high hopes for cooking meals and following recipes. I’ve realized that since school has started, quick meals are the only ones that are going to get made. This week we’ll be eating:

  • Huevos rancheros, yogurt
  • Tuna bake, green beans
  • Omelets with zucchini, onion, and cheese
  • Spaghetti with store bought sauce ramped up with onions and zucchini, salad

What did you find at the farmers’ market this week?

2 thoughts on “Market Monday

  1. How much are you paying for the eggs? I could get organic eggs at New Pi for $2.19. I wanted to get some from the Farmer’s Market here the other day but they were $3.50 and I thought that was a little steep, so I wondered what you were paying. Oooh, I made up something really delicious a week ago that you might like to try. I had no food in the house so I made black beans burgers.
    A can of black beans (or dry if you’re less lazy than me)
    I set the bean juice aside and add it to my mixture for the right consistency. I use the rest as sauce
    Half cup of quinoa, cooked
    Half cup of bread crumbs
    2tsp. chili powder
    1tsp. cumin
    1/2tsp salt
    Cilantro (optional)
    Diced olives (optional)
    Crush/mash/pulverize the beans. Mix it all together, add a little bean juice if necessary. Form hamburger patties out of it and lightly cook in oil, or you may be able to bake them if you prefer. They were SO good! I also tried them with red kidney beans but it just wasn’t the same.
    I guess you could consider them vegan too, depending how the bread crumbs were made.
    Have a great week!
    PS- Is Tuna Bake the same as Tuna Noodle Casserole?

    • The eggs are reguarly $4.15, but I pay $3.87 with my CSA discount. I haven’t found organic eggs at New Pi for that cheap–wow! The reason I’m okay with paying so much for these is that they are pastured and I am very confident about the treatment of the hens (unlike the ambiguous “free range” and “cage free” terms that I usually bought before).

      That recipe sounds simple enough! I made a black bean/quinoa burger a while ago, but it didn’t have much flavor and it flopped around and fell apart. This one looks a little more flavorful! Thanks for sharing it. I’ll let you know when I try it out!

I love to read your comments! Remember to be kind & respectful.

