Top Ten Sugary Things I Will Miss

Photo Credit: inya (click for source)

I recently discovered that a not-too-serious heart condition I have (mitral valve prolapse) may be the culprit behind some breathing problems I’ve had for the past six years. I gave up caffeine a few weeks ago, and can’t tell if there’s much of a difference in my breathing. There’s agreement all across the internet that the really important thing is to cut sugar out of your diet. I was desperately hanging onto hope that I could keep my sugar if I gave up caffeine, but it wasn’t meant to be.

In the long run, I won’t cut sugar completely out of my diet. I’ll have the occasional piece of birthday cake or a treat on a special day (I hope!), but in order to see if sugar is the key to my breathing trouble, I’ll be cutting it out completely for a while.

These are the top ten things I’m missing without sugar in my diet.

  1. Pop. I don’t drink pop very often–I never want a whole  glass. But I do love the occasional fizzy sip of Dexter’s Coke.
  2. Apple cider doughnuts. This farmers’ market tradition will have to be replaced with something savory, like a local burrito or an heirloom tomato and basil auf lauf.
  3. Chocolate chip cookies. These cookies beat out any fancy schmancy desert I can think of. The crispy-chewy-sweet-salty-chocolatey goodness will be hard to go without.
  4. Honey in my tea. I’m thinking that when I decide to cheat (and I plan to cheat if I can), I’ll cheat with honey. I drink tea a lot during my work day, and I’ll miss the little squirt of honey in my afternoon cup to fight off my craving for sweets.
  5. Weekend brunch baking. I am a fan of brunch. I love breakfast foods, and a lazy morning with eggs and doughnuts, scones, muffins, or quickbreads is something I look forward to all week. And let’s be realistic–I’m not in it for the eggs.
  6. Yogurt & oatmeal. I know people eat these breakfast staples without sugar, but I’d really rather not. Hopefully I’ll be able to load them up with enough fruit that they taste sweet enough.
  7. Chocolate. I have a friend who says she doesn’t feel right if she doesn’t have some chocolate every day. I think she’s got a point, and I might be a little crazy at the end of my no-sugar trial period as a result.
  8. Ice cream. And just after I compiled all those recipes! Maybe I’ll try to overload the ice cream with fruit.
  9. Restaurant desserts. Eating out is special, but ordering dessert makes me feel like I’m really on a date.
  10. Convenience. It’s a little tiring to check labels for HFCS, trans fats, animal products, and caffeine. Adding one more label to the list doesn’t sound fun. I’ll probably be making (even) more things at home.

(I know I could get lots of these things with artificial sugar, but at least for the time being I’ll be avoiding those because of the health consequences, the taste, and what they do to my…ahem…digestion.)

What would you miss the most if you couldn’t eat sugar?

Linking up to Top Ten Tuesday.

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Sugary Things I Will Miss

  1. Definitely brownies! And chocolates! Nestle Crunch and Toblerone to be more specific. I’d definitely miss those when I suddenly have to cut back on my sugar intake. They’re my comfort foods. And I agree with you – chocolate chip cookies will definitely make it to my list of sugary-foods-to-be-missed.

    This is sad though. Hope you feel better soon, so you can start spoiling yourself again with those sweet treats! :)

  2. I find the hardest thing about giving up sugar is the idea behind it. Like that final-ness. However, I would totally miss chocolate chip cookies. And brownies. And cake. And like you, the occasional sip of coke.

  3. Good for you! I have tried many times in my life to give up sugar and have not not been very successful for very long. I think that if I did end up seeing benefits then it would be easier to do!

    I have a hard time drawing lines on what constitutes sugar…and then what to eat for breakfast is a big challenge! If you allow yourself endless fruit, what is the difference with honey? I’m such a rule follower and a literalist that I have a really hard time drawing those lines…and then figuring out what to actually eat :)

  4. Oh girl, I have been there. I was diagnosed with MVP my freshman year of college and it was SO HARD to give up sugar and caffeine. I was on the sleeping-3-hours-a-night schedule at the time so giving up caffeine was pretty difficult. But now 7 years later my heart loves me for taking such good care of it. No more excruciating chest pain or palpitations or breathing issues. I still have occasional dizziness, but nothing like I had before. It’s difficult at first, but believe me, once you are used to not having the sweets – it’s really easy peasy lemon squeezy. :) So here’s your pot of gold on the other side: it’s possible and your heart will thank you! :)

I love to read your comments! Remember to be kind & respectful.

