Top Ten Tuesday: Summer Projects

Top Ten {Tuesday}
As I compiled my list of summer projects, I got a teensy bit overwhelmed. I thought it would be nice to pare it down to a list of ten things. I have ten fingers. I should be able to handle ten projects, right?

1. Move the bedroom into the office and the office into the bedroom. We swapped these in March but decided we don’t like it. So, we’re switching back, away from the front porch light and dripping drain spout. Right now, both rooms are a mess due to three months of mamby-pambying around about whether we wanted to organize them because we weren’t sure if we liked the new set up.

2. Fix up our ugly bathroom. There is no toilet paper holder, but there is a hole in a cabinet where one was installed by a moron. There is also a wallpaper border that has been painted over. I don’t really know how it’s going to come off. I might be crazy by the time this one is finished.

3. Clean the carpets. I am fairly confident that our dogs have desecrated our carpet to the extent that we will have to replace it before we sell. However, I still have to touch it with my feet for now, so I’m going to get it as clean as I can.

4. Get rid of all of our junk. I’m even thinking about doing a crazy minimalist project like this. I really want this junk out. I’m not sure if Dexter would be on board, and it looks like a lot of work. What do you think? Too extreme?

5. Paint our upstairs bathroom. Not that the mold above the shower isn’t lovely against my cute Urban Outfitters birdie shower curtain.

6. Refinish the kitchen table. My grandfather bought our table from a feed store and refinished it when my mom was a little girl. I was its last stop before it left the family for good, so I have permission to do with it what I please. I’m thinking about staining it darker to make it appear a little more modern. Thoughts, interior design gurus?

7. Recover the kitchen chairs. I’m thinking something with a little bit of teal in it. Which leads me to…

8. Paint everything teal. Okay. Maybe not everything, but at least a few spraypaintable accessories. What do you think? And if I’m going to change my accessory color scheme, I probably need to…

9. Repaint my main floor. My parents and our neighbors helped us paint before we moved in a couple of years ago. I’m getting a little tired of the blue and green, so I’m thinking about switching to a neutral color so I can change my color scheme more easily in the future. (See #8)

10. Repaint and make(?!?) cushions for our glider. My great-grandparents sat on the glider we now have and waved to my grandmother, my aunt, and my mom as they drove away. Now it’s rusty and the paint is chipping away. I hear the original cushions had teal in them, so I’m thinking I should try to recreate them. (Um…does anyone have any tips for how to make cushions for something like this?)

What’s on your summer to-do list?

This post is linked to OhAmanda’s Top Ten Tuesday.

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Summer Projects

  1. I think Hobby Lobby might have pillow stuffers that would work as cushions. Then all you’d need to do is cover them. OR, if you find super cheap cushions, you could recover those. Perhaps some other sewing expert has a better idea, but that’s my way of doing it. 😉

    • I am all about making it as easy as possible! I’m a little worried about getting the right kind of fabric since it’ll be outside. And…you know…about sewing.

  2. Hey! Here is a site to look up how to make glider cushions on your own: http://www.ehow.com/how_5852105_make-cushions-glider.html

    Another option would be store-bought. I know that Pier One sells cushions separately and if you wait until the end of the summer they go on clearance. Spray paint works well on outdoor metal!

    For the wallpaper border, the best way to go about handling that is to score through the paint with a razorblade. Then get a spray bottle and fill it with hot water and a little fabric softener. Spray the wallpaper, wait a few seconds, and then use the edge of a razorblade or something like it to scrape it off. You will probably have to sand the wall when you are done. You may need a fabric steamer to hold up next to the wallpaper. It will make the wallpaper glue melt.

    The kitchen table depends on what the condition is. If the table is a nice, pretty wood, I would suggest sticking with stain, darker is fine. If it is not good wood or not in good condition, you may have to paint it a color. Spray paint actually works really well. Not sure how well it will work over the top of a stain sealer though.

    I wouldn’t suggest the whole minimalist thing. You’ll get sick of that quicker than you think, but you could pick either a room or an item (like books) and go through each week and either gather the stuff you don’t want any more from a room or gather all the books/ shoes/ clothes/ knick knacks you don’t want a category at a time and give them away/ have a garage sale and then give what’s left away.

    Recovering kitchen chairs are pretty easy, just unscrew the seat from the base and recover, maybe add new foam. There are how-to videos online. I need to do this too!

    Watch what you are spray-painting. Keep in mind that you don’t want to spray-paint tons of outdoor stuff because it doesn’t last that long. My mom went around one year and spray-painted EVERYTHING she could get her hands on PINK! And then got really sick of it and then spray-painted it all purple, etc. etc.

    I suggest asking people you know or people from church if they have any leftover paints/ spray paint/ stains and if they wanted it. In the colors you want, of course! Lots of people end up keeping those things because they don’t know what else to do with it. Doesn’t hurt to ask!
    Sorry for the rant. Clearly I had nothing better to do.

  3. Wow, the minimalist thought sounds very interesting.

    Earlier this year, I did write a list about the benefits of staying in an extended stay hotel vs having a house…Definitely a minimalist thought. I kind of like the idea of packing everything and only taking out those things that you actually use.

    • I have struggled for so long with my house being messy, that I’m wondering if I would be happier without all the stuff that keeps messing it up. I’m a little apprehensive, and I might need to alter the plan laid out on that site. I don’t want to get rid of some things that I don’t use but have for more sentimental reasons–like some family photos or things I’m saving for future kids. I’m also enjoying not moving, and packing seems like a lot of work!

  4. Pingback: Market Monday…er Tuesday (and 200th Post Giveaway!) « Mrs. Dexter

I love to read your comments! Remember to be kind & respectful.

