Top Ten Reasons I Can’t Wait for Summer Break

FARMER'S MARKET TEMPLE BAR
I know, I know. Poor me, having a 10 week break during the season of sun, farmer’s markets, and barbecue. You’ve got to cut me some slack, though, because I do spend 7 hours a day trapped in a windowless, air-conditionerless room with the future of America in its adolescent form.

There are 17 days of school left. My summer to-do list is 18 miles long, and I’m anxious to get started before I realize that 10 weeks (minus 3-4 weeks of a summer job, minus a school workshop, minus curriculum planning) is not nearly enough time to accomplish half of what I want to get done.

Here are the top ten things I can’t wait to do this summer.

  1. Read. Every once in a while, I can turn my head just right, blocking out the mess, and focus on reading a book. My 30 Before 30 list includes reading a book a month, and right now I’m behind 3.5 months. I keep making mental additions to my reading list, and I can’t wait to get started.
  2. Running. On Easter, my schedule finally calmed down and I began making time to run. I’m now in the middle of Couch to 5K Week 3, and it’s going better this time than ever before. I’m even thinking there could be a 10K in my future.
  3. Farmer’s Market. Although down south, where it seems like the majority of bloggers that I read live, some summer food seasons are already over. In Iowa, the first veggies have barely started to be harvested. Our town’s first farmer’s market was last weekend, and I’m looking forward to weeks of fresh veggies. We’re not doing a CSA this summer, so I’m going to make an effort to faithfully shop the farmer’s market each week.
  4. Cooking. The past month or so, we’ve been eating spaghetti, pizza, canned soup, and canned Indian food. I’m ready to get in the kitchen, make some delicious, fresh meals, and still have the time and energy to clean up after myself.
  5. Paying off Debt #3. I’m not 100% sure, but we might be able to pay off what I’ve dubbed our “mini mortgage” on July 1. I’m excited to figure out the budget and take that check to the bank! We’ll still have a ways to go, but we’ll be down to our last two loans.
  6. Being artsy and crafty. I’ve always enjoyed artistic things, but haven’t really considered it a full fledged hobby before. I have lots of creative ideas bouncing around in my head, and I’m excited to put some of them into action.
  7. Blogging! Between running, keeping food on the table, and keeping my home mold and bug free, I haven’t had a lot of time to blog. I’m still trying to decide how many times a week to post this summer, but I’m hoping to get into some semblence of consistency and discipline.
  8. Walking my dogs. My poor puppies spend every day cooped up inside, but they love to run and sniff. We got Fitz a new collar that helps him to walk with us rather than drag us on our faces down the street, so it should be a much more pleasant experience.
  9. Refinishing furniture. I inherited a dining room table and a porch glider from my family. The dining set is in good shape, but I’d like to refinish the wood so it’s darker and more modern. The porch spring is metal and rusty, so I’m hoping to clean it off and give it a fresh coat of paint. I’m still looking for an old bed and dresser to spruce up for our bedroom.
  10. Redecorating my house. Maybe it’s all the interior design blogs I’ve started to read lately, but I can’t stop thinking about rearranging my furniture, covering my sofa, painting my walls a calming neutral, and adding pops of teal and red throughout. It just sounds bright and cheery.

Head over to OhAmanda for more Top Ten Tuesday!

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Reasons I Can’t Wait for Summer Break

  1. Ohhh… be sure to take before and after pictures of any redecorating you do! I love interior design and especially sprucing up old furniture with easy tricks. And pops of teal and red would be awesome!

I love to read your comments! Remember to be kind & respectful.

