Soulprint Review & Giveaway

Soulprint, by Mark Batterson, is a guide to “discovering your divine destiny.” Before reading the book, I was skeptical. Many self-help books exist to help you find your purpose in life; few say anything helpful, and some are even harmful. However, I was impressed by the Bible-driven process Batterson explains in this book.

The author asserts that God created each of us uniquely, for a unique purpose, but along the way we give up our uniqueness because we want to fit in or satisfy the expectations of others. Batterson reminds the reader that your true destiny can only be found through a relationship with God, writing, “And if you try to find yourself outside of a relationship with your Designer, it will lead to a case of mistaken identity.” Batterson walks the reader through five crucial points in King David’s life and explains how we can find in our own lives moments like those in David’s life to discover our unique soulprint. He also writes, “God’s primary concern is who you’re becoming,” reminding the reader that the goal is to become like Christ, and that anything else is not part of the destiny God has designed for you.

The book is an entertaining read, containing stories from Batterson’s life, historical commentary, and relevant scriptures. Discussion questions can be found at the end of the book. My husband and I talked over these and found many of them helpful in applying the principles from the book to our own lives. Batterson often uses sentimental cliches in his writing, such as, “It’s not the number of breaths we take that makes life worth living. It’s the number of things that take our breath away.” These maxims aren’t something I appreciate in writing, but Batterson seems to use them only with a reason, and they may resonate with others more than they resonate with me. Batterson also takes some liberties and imagines what King David may have thought or felt at certain moments. I don’t appreciate speculation about the Bible, because I feel that it is a breeding ground for false doctrine. However, nothing Batterson imagined seemed to contradict scripture. Click here to start reading Chapter 1.

As a person who has made many life decisions based on the expectations of other Christians, I found this book freeing, encouraging, and trustworthy. I highly recommend Soulprint for believers who want to align who they are and where they are going with the good and perfect plan God has in mind.

In fact, I recommend this book so highly that I bought a copy of Soulprint to share with you! Here’s how to enter:

  1. Leave a comment below sharing why you’d like to with this book OR a favorite quote. (required)
  2. Tweet about this giveaway. (Comment again for an extra entry.)
  3. Post about this giveaway on Facebook. (Comment again for an extra entry.)
  4. Blog about this giveaway. (Comment again for an extra entry.)
  5. Read my review here and rank it. (Comment again for an extra entry.)

The giveaway will close on Sunday, May 1, 2011, at 11:59 pm.

I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review, but I bought the extra copy for you because I liked it so much.

20 thoughts on “Soulprint Review & Giveaway

  1. Seems really interesting. I, too, have a hard time reading through “self help” books and feeling like they are doing me any true good. That whole “think of yourself first” thing just doesn’t jazz with me. But, Soulprint seems like it’s really pushing you toward Christ instead of yourself.

    If I won, I’d suggest it be a book my small group reads together.

  2. This looks interesting! I read some of the excerpt and was struck by how, in the first 3 sentences, the author makes it clear that this book will take a different perspective. Annie

  3. I’m feeling a bit lost right now because I’m graduating from college next month and have no job lined up. That feels just plain wrong. I’d love some direction in how I can better discern God’s will, so this book sounds helpful!

  4. “Define yourself radically as one loved by God. This is the true self. Every other identity is illusion.”

    This quote by Brennan Manning hit’s the nail on the head. In addition Manning says that each of us has an imposter that we want everyone to see, but that leaves us lonely and separated from people because it’s not who we really are.

    Sounds like Mark Batterson is thinking along the same lines.

  5. Pingback: Welcoming Spring « Mrs. Dexter

  6. A quote from Benjamin Franklin: “Dost thou love life? Then do not squander time, for that’s the stuff life is made of.”

  7. Got it on Facebook, but I screwed up and didn’t reference you, Kelsey, but Ann Krogan straightened me out…..sorry

    Also rated your review……good job

  8. Pingback: Authentic British Scones « Mrs. Dexter

  9. Pingback: Soulprint Giveaway Winner Announced « Mrs. Dexter

I love to read your comments! Remember to be kind & respectful.

