Spinach Artichoke Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

I didn’t know about spinach-artichoke dip until I was in college. I first had it at a wine-tasting party that my friend Amy hosted. I was wary at first.  A food with two vegetables as the name of the dish? No thank you. There is no amount of wine that could make me think that is a good combination. What I didn’t realize was that wine isn’t the key to making vegetables taste good–cheese is.

The cover-it-with-cheese principle has served me well, helping me to include tomatoes, mushrooms, and brussels sprouts in my diet when they never would have made it into my mouth before. As I’ve grown accustomed to vegetables, I’ve reduced the amount of cheese I use to accompany them. It might be too great a shock to my system to completely take it out.

Last week, my April issue of Whole Living Magazine arrived, and inside I found 30 ideas for delicious, nutritious sandwiches. I was inspired by their combination of artichokes and white beans and created my own easy, real-life dinner-time recipe. These sandwiches, while not as decadent as their namesake dip, are a great way to add flavor, fiber, and protein to a grilled cheese sandwich.

Reviews from my table:

“These are pretty good.”

“Mmm…cheese.”

“I don’t like spinach, but I really like this sandwich.”

You’re sold, aren’t you?

Spinach Artichoke Grilled Cheese Sandwich
adapted from Whole Living, April 2011
makes 5 sandwiches

Ingredients

  • 1 can great northern beans (or other white beans)
  • 1 10-oz. box frozen spinach
  • 2 Tbsp. mayonnaise (I used light, made with olive oil)
  • 2 Tbsp. grated parmesan cheese
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 14-oz. can artichokes in water
  • 5 oz. white cheese in 5 slices or grated (I used organic raw sharp cheddar because it was on sale)
  • 10 slices 100% whole wheat sandwich bread (frozen for easy assembly)
  • 3-4 Tbsp. butter, olive oil, or non-stick spray

Directions:

  1. Thaw frozen spinach in microwave. Squeeze out water in a towel over the sink.
  2. Put beans, spinach, mayonnaise, parmesan, and olive oil in the food processor. Blend for 30-60 seconds until desired consistency is reached.
  3. Drain and chop artichokes into small pieces.
  4. Combine artichokes and bean mixture in a small bowl.
  5. Spread butter on one side of each piece of bread, brush with olive oil, or spray lightly with non-stick spray for a lower fat option.
  6. To assemble sandwiches, put 3 tablespoons of artichoke mixture on the un-buttered side of a piece of bread. (I used a 1.5 Tbsp. cookie scoop to measure.) Top with 1/2 oz of cheese. Place a second piece of bread, butter side out, on top of cheese. Repeat for four remaining sandwiches.
  7. Cook on a griddle heated over medium heat, on a panini press, or in a George Foreman grill until brown and crispy. I put mine on the George Foreman for about 4 minutes.

Pictures to come. Somebody pressed “Schedule” instead of “Save” and forgot about it.

9 thoughts on “Spinach Artichoke Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

  1. Yum. A roommate in college introduced my to the world of artichoke. I’d had the dip before, but she’d boil the artichoke and then eat it dipped in mayo. It was awesome. I imagine a sandwich variation to be just as good.

    • Was this with whole artichokes? They’ve always seemed like they’d be a pain to cook, so I’ve never tried to make them. My husband is probably thrilled with this “dip it in mayo” idea, so I might have to try it out!

      • It was the whole veggie. I can’t remember how to cook it, because it’s been many years. But just boiling it until it “blooms”. Dip and enjoy. 🙂

  2. oooohhh! super excited to try this one on the fam!! although i might have to wait a few weeks until i’m ready to buy more groceries again. 😉 i think i might blend the artichokes with the rest of the stuff in the blender at least for the first time to hide them more- what do you think? thanks for sharing!! excited for the pics!

    • I think the artichokes would blend just fine! I almost threw them in the food processor myself because I am a little lazy about having to use the food processor and a knife for the same meal. I left them in because I like texture, but if I had kids who didn’t, I would definitely blend them. (Or a husband who didn’t. Or if I didn’t and I wanted to force myself to eat them…)

  3. Pingback: Weigh-In Wednesday « A Momma on a Mission

I love to read your comments! Remember to be kind & respectful.

