At-Home Coffee Shop Series: Carmelitas

I’d like to introduce you to my friend and very first guest-poster, Leah. Leah is a wife and stay-at-home mom of three cuties who loves a great deal. She’s talented, entrepreneurial, adventurous, and hilarious. After you’ve enjoyed her post and decadently delicious recipe here, head over to A Momma on a Mission where she blogs about family life, frugal living, and making just about anything you can think of from scratch!

*   *   *   *   *

Two and a half years ago, my husband and I found ourselves with hospital bills from having a baby and another set of bills from an unexpected shoulder surgery.  I was a stay at home mom at the time of our 3 year old daughter and 4 month old son.  Growing up, my mom (also a stay at home mom) was always doing a little something from home to help with the family’s income.  And having my dad be the entrepreneur that he is…. well starting little side businesses was just in my blood.

My husband and I decided to check with a friend who owned a local coffee shop and see if there was a need for some homemade goodies for them to sell.  Sure enough they were interested!  I whipped up a few different samples and we found a winner.  I set up my kitchen,  got it licensed, and a few short weeks later I was well on my way to making these “oh so yummy but terrible for you” Oatmeal Carmelitas.

We moved this last summer so I decided it was a good stopping point for me with this business as we were expecting our third baby.  I don’t think I had made them since this last July.  But thankfully this guest post was the motivation I needed to try them again, just a little “healthier” (can you call chocolate and caramel mixed together healthy? 🙂 ) so I could serve them to my family.  I was not disappointed!  Even with the changes I made- they are still delicious!

Here is the original recipe with the few changes that I made.

Oatmeal Carmelitas

Base:
2 C. flour (I used whole wheat)
2 C. oats
1.5 C. brown sugar (I used 1 C. sucanat)
2.5 sticks melted margarine (I used 2 sticks of real butter)
1 tsp. baking soda
.5 tsp salt

Filling:
1 C. caramel sauce
3 TBS. flour (to thicken the caramel filling)
1 package chocolate chips (I thought about using fewer- but then realized- WHY? 😉 )

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350*.
Mix together all of the base ingredients and spread half of the mixture into a greased 9×13 pan.  Bake for 10 minutes.  While that is cooking, combine the caramel sauce and 3 TBS of flour.  Take the bars out of the oven, spread the caramel sauce evenly and then sprinkle on chocolate chips.  Top with remaining half of the base mixture.  Bake for an additional 17-20 minutes or until golden brown.

Allow to cool before cutting.  (Trust me this is very important!  I once took them directly out of the oven and was ready to leave immediately to deliver them to the coffee house.  On the way outside, the corner of the pan hit our van tilting the pan ever so slightly and the ENTIRE double batch of my Oatmeal Carmelitas ended up on my driveway that day!)

Enjoy!

(As a double bonus- these freeze really well!  Since our family did not need to eat an entire pan of these in 2 days, I cut them up and froze them individually so my honey and I can split a late night treat every once and a while.  So good!)

You can check out the rest of the At-Home Coffee Shop Series here!

4 thoughts on “At-Home Coffee Shop Series: Carmelitas

  1. Pingback: Asian Spinach Salad: Chasing Away the Winter Blues with Magnesium « Mrs. Dexter

  2. Pingback: Family Friendly Chili & Guest Posting for the First Time! « Mrs. Dexter

I love to read your comments! Remember to be kind & respectful.

