Book Review and Giveaway: Love and War Devotional for Couples

I recently signed up for the Blogging for Books program through WaterBrook Publishing Group. I’m sharing my very first review with you today! You can also read my review and many others on the Blogging for Books site.

Every fairy tale has a prince and princess pitted against the forces of evil, striving for a happy ending. John and Stasi Eldredge, in their book Love & War Devotional for Couples, assert that marriage is like a fairy tale; not the happy ending, but the fight for unity and holiness. The authors combine personal experience and biblical principles to provide trustworthy wisdom for both newlyweds and marriage veterans.

The eight-week devotional offers five short readings a week. Each day begins and ends with a relevant scripture and includes a prayer about the day’s topic. Each week, the authors offer an exercise so the couple can put what they’ve learned into action. Beginning with a call to renew just the desire for a strong and healthy marriage, addressing God’s view of marriage, and advising couples on how to grow closer, this devotional provides insight for couples in any season of marriage.

Without discounting the reality that marriage can be difficult and turbulent, the Eldredges point the reader toward hope in the Lord throughout the book. On day one they write,

“In order to have the life we want, the life we are made for, and the marriage we long for, we need God. That’s a very good thing! Because without him, nothing is as it should be. With him, all things are possible. Yes, marriage can be extremely hard. But that is not a reason to despair. Nor is it the final truth. There are seasons in marriage–in every relationship. Marriage is meant to be wonderful, and most of the time it is. Though it’s sometimes so hard, think of the difficulty as a doorway. A doorway to all the more Jesus has for us in himself! There is hope!”

I appreciated this book because, although it only took a few minutes a day to read, the insights it offered were helpful and thought-provoking. I was inspired to strengthen my own marriage when I was reminded that God created marriage as a reflection of his relationship with humanity. Read an excerpt from the book here to see how it could impact your marriage.

I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

* * * * * * * * * *

As it happens, I purchased the full Love and War book shortly before requesting this devotional from Blogging for Books. So, I decided to share the wealth and give away this gently-read devotional to one lucky reader! To enter the giveaway up to three times, follow the instructions below.

  1. Required: Subscribe to my blog by clicking the “subscribe” button above or adding me to your blog reader. Leave a comment telling me you did (or that you already do). Feel free to include your best piece of marriage advice as well!
  2. Tweet about this giveaway or post about it on Facebook, linking back to this post. Leave a separate comment telling me you did.
  3. Blog about this giveaway, linking back to this post. Leave a separate comment telling me you did.

This giveaway will be open until 11:59 pm on Saturday, January 29 (my 4.5 year wedding anniversary). Enter below and spread the word!

Psst! If you rank my review here, I might win a prize!

10 thoughts on “Book Review and Giveaway: Love and War Devotional for Couples

  1. Pingback: How to Sound Smart at a Coffee Shop « Mrs. Dexter

  2. I signed up. Also, I suggested a friend of mine sign up as well. Do you get points the more people are signed up?

    Marriage advice: Be humble and kind. Remember how much God loves you, even when you’re messing up. Try to love your spouse that way.

  3. Hi. I FB-ed about you. A little because I wanted to play the “giveaway” game. Mostly, because I want to brag up on you. Oweedah.

  4. Ooo a giveaway and a marriage devotional-big win! I added you to my reader which will be much more efficient than clicking to you from Loved Like the Church.

    It is not necessary, or beneficial to have the last word.

  5. Pingback: Love & War Giveaway Winner « Mrs. Dexter

I love to read your comments! Remember to be kind & respectful.

