Top Ten Books On my Reading List

Top Ten {Tuesday}

  1. The Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan – I’ve just started reading this. Although it’s nearly always depressing to find out where my food comes from, I can’t change anything until I know.
  2. The Other 8 Hours by Robert Pagliarini – Recommended by MoneySavingMom.com.
  3. Pride and Prescience by Carrie Bebris– Recommended by my friend Sarah.
  4. Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer – Another book about the food industry. I’m interested in reading it because the author generally writes fiction. I really enjoyed Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, and although this will have a more serious feel, I think the writing will be good.
  5. War & Peace by Leo Tolstoy – Dexter bought me a copy of this while we were dating. I still haven’t read it. My two Russian kids at school were excited when I told them I had read the first two pages. I think I’ll need to make some sort of graphic organizer to keep track of all the characters and their nicknames.
  6. Outliers: The Story of Success by Malcolm Gladwell – I heard about this at a teaching workshop. It’ll be interesting to see what commonalities he finds between people the world calls successful.
  7. Mindset: The New Psychology of Success by Carol Dweck – This is another book recommended by my workshop. I expect it to explore the idea that our attitude about what we are capable of strongly influences what we can do and learn.
  8. Serve God, Save the Planet by J. Matthew Sleeth – Recommended by my friend Alicia (a long time ago), this book explores how environmentalism fits in with Christian life.
  9. Consider the Lobster by David Foster Wallace – Recommended by my old friend Kristen who thought one of the essays would interest a fellow English language snob.
  10. You tell me! These first 9 came to me quickly, but I’m having to think a little harder about the tenth. What book do you think is a must read?

Visit Oh Amanda for more Top Ten Tuesday.

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Books On my Reading List

  1. I loved Compassionate Carnivore by Catherine Friend. It talked a lot about buying direct from farms, why we need to eat grass-fed beefs, and that how animals are raised and killed is actually of utmost importantance. I know you don’t eat meat really, but this could be good for Dexter.

      • That would be awesome! I’ll probably start having time to read it during winter break…maybe I should get it before then since you’ll be on the verge of having a baby!

    • Thanks for the recommendation. If I do start eating meat, or just when I buy meat for Dexter to eat, I want to be well-informed.

  2. Have you read Three Cups of Tea? I highly recommend that one. I listened to it actually. I’m reading Boys Adrift right now and think it’s a very interesting read so far too!

    • I haven’t read Three Cups of Tea, but I’ve heard of it and forgot I wanted to read it! Thanks for the reminder. Boys Adrift sounds really interesting–I’ll definitely want to read that sometime!.

  3. I love Omnivore’s Dilemma. Have a post about how it changed my life. I want to read Eating Animals and Aminal,Veg, Mineral too. Outliers is good, although Tipping Point and Blink are better I think. Consider the Lobster is a great read for an ethical eater!

    • I just read your post about Omnivore’s Dilemma. My first Pollan book was In Defense of Food. I was blown away! Also, I appreciated your list of resources from this week’s Top Ten.

  4. Pingback: Trivial Things I’m Thankful For « Mrs. Dexter

I love to read your comments! Remember to be kind & respectful.

