CSA! Catching Up

We’ve still been getting our CSA, and we’ve still been eating our vegetables. I just haven’t been blogging. I expected summer to be a carefree blogfest during which I would write to you about my crazy CSA concoctions, how we’re smashing our debt to pieces, and how, as we approach the one year anniversary of closing on our first home, I finally have our house exactly the way we want it.

Since my last post was July 16, work starts in 12 short days, and school starts in 15 days, I’m concluding that things aren’t going to work out how I planned. Luckily, I’ve discovered some great things to do with our veggies–even the ones that I like to let wilt at the bottom of the fridge and throw away on Tuesday nights or cram into a smoothie on Wednesday morning. We’re making headway on our debt. And although there are lots of things I still want to do around the house, the projects that I have gotten done have cleared out a lot of clutter and will make a big difference in day-to-day life. And it’s not as if I haven’t done any blogging. I actually passed by my 100th post while blogging about our fabulous anniversary trip. It seemed a little sacriligious not to stop and do a commemorative post, but I didn’t notice till I was at #101.

Because I’m sure you’re dying to know my CSA price statistics, I won’t make you wait any longer.

Week 5: 6 lbs 15 oz, $1.80/lb (Holy Smokes!)
Week 6: 4 lbs 1 oz, $3.06/lb
Week 7: 4 lbs 1 oz, $3.06/lb
Week 8: 3 lbs 15 oz, $3.17/lb
Average price of produce this summer: $3.37/lb

So far, I’m fairly pleased with what we’ve gotten for our money. Throughout the summer, we’ve let a lot of kale and collard greens go to waste. I got a little burnt out on green smoothies early on, and I don’t like cooked greens. Last fall, I was reading an issue of Vegetarian Times and discovered that you can use greens like kale and collards to make wraps. I assumed they’d be to hearty and that only lettuce would work. So, a few weeks ago, I searched online and recovered the recipe. It required a few ingredients that I don’t keep on hand, but I liked these and they’re a fairly painless way to eat my greens so I think the odd ingredients were worth it.

Ginger-Miso Yam Wraps

Ingredients:

  • 2 small yams or sweet potatoes (1 lb.–I used one gigantic yam)
  • 2 Tbs. white miso paste
  • 1 Tbs. smooth peanut butter
  • 2 Tbs. finely chopped shallot
  • 1 Tbs. minced fresh ginger (I used more than this, but I LOVE ginger)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced (2 tsp.)
  • 1 cup frozen shelled edamame
  • 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 6 oz. firm silken tofu, crumbled (1 cup)
  • 2 Tbs. chopped cilantro
  • 8 collard green leaves, stems removed
  • Directions:

    1. Preheat oven to 400°F. Cut thin slice off both ends of yams, and poke skins with knife in several places. Bake 50 minutes, or until soft, turning once. Halve yams, and scoop flesh into bowl. Mash in miso and peanut butter.

    2. Meanwhile, coat skillet with cooking spray, and heat over medium heat. Sauté shallot, ginger, and garlic 3 minutes, or until soft. Add edamame, 1/4 cup water, and cayenne; cook 3 minutes more. Remove from heat, and stir in tofu,cilantro, and yam mixture. Cool.

    3. Place 1 collard green leaf on work surface. Spoon 1/3 cup yam mixture in center of leaf. Roll bottom edge over mixture; tuck in sides. Roll up to top edge. Place, seam-side down, and repeat with remaining ingredients.

    It was difficult to wrap these in curly kale, but they were still edible. I also wanted to remove most of the tough stems of both greens. The collard greens were fairly easy to roll. I cut out the stem and pulled the leaf together so it looked whole again, rolling with the cut side inside the roll.

    Here’s the finished product. The recipe said it would make 8. I got 8 normal sized wraps and one giant wrap–so I would have 10 leaves on hand to make these. If you’re a Weight Watcher’s person, you can eat 2 wraps for a total of 6 points. They are a surprisingly filling meal. I plan to make some of the filling tomorrow morning so we can make some wraps for dinner with our fresh picked greens.

    One thought on “CSA! Catching Up

    I love to read your comments! Remember to be kind & respectful.

    