Weekend Getaway: Day 1, Part 1

 On July 29, Dexter and I will celebrate four years of marriage. This coincided (almost) perfectly with our need for a break from our routine, so we took our anniversary trip a couple of weeks early. We started talking about where to go a few months ago. Dexter chose Kansas City, and I started planning.

If you don’t want the long version (with words), you can view the short version here.

Thursday night, we packed up the car and drove to my parents’ house in Des Moines. I was so glad we broke up the drive that way, because getting packed and out the door can be so stressful that it leaves me in a bad mood. When we woke up Friday morning, the crankiness of the night before had worn off, and we were ready for a fun trip.

First things first. We had to go to Dahl’s for some doughnuts. Mine had sprinkles.

Enter: My pink hair. I’ve found that it’s helpful to address this right off the bat when I see people I know. Otherwise everyone is giggly because they’re trying not to mention it. It’s like the elephant in the room is on my head. I got my hair cut and dyed by Dexter’s sister-in-law Rona last week. I learned to take her seriously when she says, “It’s summer, so we can go a little crazy, right?” It took a couple of days to get used to, but I’m really digging the pink hair. It will definitely make it into my “what the teacher did last summer” slide-show this fall. (Also, just so you know, Rona has given me lots of tame cut & dye jobs, too. She’s a multi-talented woman.)

We stopped at Friedrich’s for a latte on our way out-of-town. We love Friedrich’s both because it’s good, and because that’s where we had our “just friends” dates before we admitted we were dating. Dexter hadn’t had any caffeine yet when this picture was taken Friday morning. We’ve found that it’s good to get espresso into his system as soon after he wakes up as possible.

The car wash gave us the perfect place to eat our doughnuts and drink our latte. We listened to Agatha Christie’s Mr. Quinn short stories and played Scratch-and-Play Trivial Pursuit to pass the time.

My parents let us borrow their GPS for the trip. As we neared the city, I got it out to search for restaurants. We decided to go park at a museum we wanted to go to, but when I saw the super cute exterior of the Blue Bird Bistro, I realized that I had  put the wrong address into the GPS. We took it as a sign and ate there.

I really liked the building and the different textures and mediums that made up our dining area. This was good, because something needed to make up for the creepy art on the walls.

Dexter had a bison burger, which he enjoyed despite the homemade ketchup (which intrigued me). My beet salad was not worth picturing. It was more expensive and less delicious than the beet salad I enjoy at a local pizza-by-the-slice place.

We visited a museum about the Steamboat Arabia, which sank in the Missouri River in 1856. In 1988, a  family of heating/cooling servicemen and their friend (a restaurant owner) decided to excavate the steamboat. They were the fourth group to attempt this. By ’88, the river had changed course and the men finally found the steamboat 45 feet beneath a cornfield. The steamboat was loaded with cargo in Kansas City and sank a few miles downriver with all 220 tons of cargo. The families expected to be done restoring the artifacts in about eight years, but 20 years later, they’re only 2/3 done. The families have funded this entire operation by themselves (and through significant loans…don’t tell Dave), and we even met one of the guys who did the excavating. His nephew was our tour guide, and his nieces worked in the gift shop.

These coffee beans are over 150 years old. (As a point of reference, coffee beans are at their peak of flavor 3-7 days after they’re roasted.) The tour guide said that they still smelled like coffee. I can’t verify that. But you should still go.

This case of printer’s type was on its way to Council Bluffs, and like most Iowans, I’m excited when Iowa gets any sort of attention!

Our trip was off to a great start, and it had just begun. I’ll fill you in on the rest another day. But, you can stay tuned for the nicest hotel I’ve ever stayed at and the best veggie burger I’ve ever eaten.

9 thoughts on “Weekend Getaway: Day 1, Part 1

  1. Oh man, I can’t believe you just left me in suspense like that! I think it’s awesome that Dexter ate a bison burger. I like the boat story.

  2. Pingback: Weekend Getaway: Day 2 « Mrs. Dexter

  3. I’m sorry that you didn’t like the Blue Bird Bistro. That used to be one of my favorite places to go when we lived in KC. I don’t have any recall of the art though!

    All in all it sounds like you had a lot of fun on your trip. (I’ve not read these in the order that you posted them.) The Raphael is great – we went for a weekend getaway there once too!

  4. Pingback: CSA! Catching Up « Mrs. Dexter

  5. Pingback: Starting my 30 Before 30 Project « Mrs. Dexter

  6. Pingback: Spring Break on a Budget « Mrs. Dexter

  7. Pingback: Top Ten Things We Did in the Twin Cities « Mrs. Dexter

I love to read your comments! Remember to be kind & respectful.

