The Meal Un-Plan

You probably didn’t, but you may have noticed that I didn’t do a “monthly meal plan” post at the beginning of April. Over the past few months, I’d switched over to a monthly meal plan and eventually loved it. I realized in February that I was switching around meals or changing my ideas a lot during the month. I decided to track my stick-to-it-ive-ness during March. Guess how many days I ate something from my meal plan on the correct day?

Zero.

Yes, zero. I just couldn’t stick to it. For a variety of reasons. Our work schedules vary, and I inevitably put the hardest meals on nights we ended up working late. And sometimes, you come across a recipe like this and you have all those ingredients extra that you need to use up. To be responsible. And because you want  to. And sometimes, mid-March, when it’s 80 degrees outside, you’re kicking yourself for not having “grill something” on the menu every day. So, I gave up my monthly meal plan. I’m also justifying it because we begin getting food from our CSA at the beginning of June, which will throw even the idea of a meal plan into a tizzy.

I have been meal planning to an extent. Two weeks ago, I did the least meal planning I’ve done in months. I didn’t even write down our meals in my planner, which I almost always do. We ate leftovers and meals from the pantry and freezer. I think I bought a bag of potatoes and a can of baked beans. Last week I did write down our meals. We had company on Monday, so we had tortilla soup, mole (say it: mo-lay–basically Mexican barbecued chicken), and fajitas. The rest of the week was burgers and coleslaw, vegetarian curry from the freezer, and leftovers. Where did the week of meal planning fall apart? Friday. What did we eat? Cookies. Did I feel sick? Yes.

What’s the plan for this week?

-Burgers (faux), homemade coleslaw, and homemade baked beans (Dexter loves these, but the canned vegetarian ones are really sweet…I’m going to try making my own)

-Homemade veggie pizza

-Giant salad with chickpeas, fruit, and nuts; whole wheat bread & black bean hummus

Cabbage Rolls (my first time…we’ll see how it goes)

Vegetarian Goulash (this is a first try as well…I don’t have high hopes for this, but Dexter really likes goulash)

I hope to do a lot of the prep work for some of these meals this weekend so they work well on nights I don’t feel like cooking. I hope to make the coleslaw, baked beans, pizza dough, black bean hummus, and cabbage roll filling in advance.

One thought on “The Meal Un-Plan

  1. I hear what you’re saying!! I’ve been meal planning a long time and try to do it for 2 weeks at a time and just know in my head that I don’t HAVE to eat those meals on the exact night. Otherwise it drives me crazy. Hopefully life will fall into a more predictable routine so you will know if you’re working late!! Sometimes life is just crazy and I don’t even have time to go to the store. I think that you’re doing well if you’re using up stuff that you have in the house already without making a million little trips to the store. However, they go to the store everyday in Europe because they have no space to store it and want fresh bread. So, who’s to say we do it exactly right? and they’re not usually fat either.

I love to read your comments! Remember to be kind & respectful.

