Top Ten Rhubarb Recipes

It’s safe to say that I have developed a bit of a rhubarb obsession. It’s so red and cheerful, and I love an excuse to bake when I’m just baking for fun. I’ve come home from the farmers’ market with rhubarb the past few weeks, knowing I would make something delicious, but not having any idea what that something would be.

The following is my list of rhubarb inspiration. I’ve personally tested the top three recipes and can attest that they are worth turning on your oven even on a hot summer day.

Rhubarb Crisp – I told you about this last week. When rhubarb season is over, the crisp part of the recipe can be used in another other type of fruit crisp. Since it contains walnuts, it would be great for apple crisp.

Rhubarb Muffins – I took this decadent Smitten Kitchen recipe and substituted in white whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup honey for both kinds of sugar. I also left off the crumb topping. I was left with a delicious, barely sweet muffin that traveled well and didn’t leave my fingers sticky with sugar after a rushed breakfast.

Rhubarb Upside-Down Cake – My roommate bought a New York Times paper last week and left it on the end table with this recipe facing up. It was so thoughtful, or clever, that I decided to make the cake Sunday evening. The rhubarb turned out the perfect combination of sweet and tart, and the cake was  sturdy but soft, and rich but mild enough to balance out the tartness of the rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Ginger Jam – I am confident that combining two foods that I am mildly obsessed with into something that can be spread on toast will be a winning combination.

Rhubarb Custards – I’m hoping this will be reminiscent of the custard/pie combination we saw on our trip to the United Kingdom. Since it lacks a pie crust, it’s probably significantly lighter, too.

Rhubarb & Red Lentil Curry – What fun is a “secret ingredient challenge” if you don’t make a savory application of the usually sweet food?

Mexican Rhubarb Chocolate Chunk Brownies – I am not a proponent of mixing fruit and chocolate. Generally, I believe it ruins both perfectly good fruit and perfectly good chocolate. However, I think this needs to be attempted if just for a taste.

Rhubarb-Cream-Filled Brioche Doughnuts – Brioche is a rich, eggy bread that I fell in love with while eating French Toast Napoleon at the Cheesecake Factory in Illinois. It was love at first bite. And I don’t think frying, cream, or rhubarb could possibly not improve something delicious like brioche.

Rhubarb Tart – I know that pies are the natural application for rhubarb, but I love tarts because you don’t have to make the edges pretty–the pan does it for you!

Frosted Rhubarb Cookies – Again, I’m appealing to the “good + good = really good” argument. Frosting + rhubarb + cookies = Really awesome good.

What is your favorite rhubarb recipe?

I’m linked up at OhAmanda‘s Top Ten Tuesday.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Rhubarb Recipes

  1. I have to agree, rhubarb/strawberry pie is to die for, especially when it’s a bit more tart than sweet. My favorite is at the Colony Inn restaurant in big Amana. I can’t wait to try a couple of these recipes; thanks for the tip!

  2. Pingback: Market Monday « Mrs. Dexter

  3. Pingback: update: hungry for new things challenge (week 3) « brecca loves

  4. Pingback: Market Monday « Mrs. Dexter

I love to read your comments! Remember to be kind & respectful.

