At-Home Coffee Shop Series: Naturally Sweetened Banana Bread

Please welcome my friend Sarah! In my eyes, she’s a super-cool, famous blogger. Someday, when I attend a blog conference where she’s presenting, I’m going to lean to the person next to me and whisper, “Yeah, I’ve done coffee with Sarah.”

*   *   *   *   *

For the past 3 years, I’ve been experimenting with different natural sweeteners in an attempt to cut out refined sugar from our family’s diet. It’s no small feat, especially since most natural sweeteners cost more than refined sugar, making it a costly transition. But thankfully you can typically cut back how much you use because the natural sweeteners are really sweet {so you won’t use as much in a recipe as refined sugar}. One of the easiest ways for me to cut out refined sugar is while making breads. So, I thought I’d pass along my banana bread with agave nectar recipe {which I adapted from Better Homes and Garden New Cookbook}.

Here’s the star of the show:

In a bowl, mash up two to three ripe bananas:

In another bowl mix 1 cup flour, 1/2 cup agave nectar, 2 teaspoons baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon baking soda and 1/4 teaspoon salt:

Add mashed bananas, 1/3 cup butter, 1 tablespoon milk. Mix:

Then add 2 eggs, 3/4 cup flour and nuts {which are optional}. Mix well. Don’t worry about lumps, that’s just your banana and nuts:

Pour into a well greased bread pan {I usually use butter for greasing my dishes}.

Bake at 350* for 55-60 minutes. Here’s your end result:

Enjoy!

Recipe list:
1 3/4 cup flour
1/2 cup agave
2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
2-3 ripe bananas, mashed
1/3 cup butter
1 tablespoon milk
2 eggs
nuts {optional}

Sarah is a wife, mother and follower of Christ. She is married to web genius and funny man Jonathan, and stays at home with her two daughters, Julia {3 yo} and Hannah {1.5 yo}. When not chasing after her hyperactive girls, she loves to cook, run, read and watch movies in her “spare” time. You can follow her adventures at Loved Like The Church.

15 thoughts on “At-Home Coffee Shop Series: Naturally Sweetened Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: I’m Back in Iowa! « A Wife Loved Like The Church

    • I’ve found that if a grocery stores are big enough to have a natural foods section, they will probably have agave in it. I’ve found the best deals on Agave on Amazon, however. Sarah says she can get it for $.19/oz, but the best I’ve found it is $.21/oz. So, if you find a good deal on it, it’s probably comparable to the price of honey.

      Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    • Wal-Mart carries it for about $5 for a fairly large container. Searching around online will get you the best deal though. There’s also light and dark agave. I’ve never noticed a big difference between the two, they cost the same, so it’s a matter of preference.

  2. Pingback: Mrs. Dexter

  3. Pingback: Saturday Stumbles: Current Events, Stress, and Health Tips « Mrs. Dexter

I love to read your comments! Remember to be kind & respectful.

